Scholarships We Give and The New Ones We’ll Be Awarding in 2023

From the very beginning of Jayme’s Fund for Social Justice, we knew we wanted to find ways to give back to the community and support students who inspired us as Jayme had. As we look back on the past twenty years, the scholarships stand out as a way we’ve made a major impact in our local communities. Read on to learn more about the scholarships we give and the new scholarships we’ll be awarding in 2023.

The 1st Jayme’s Fund benefit concert in 2003.

The Central High School Eckman Award for Excellence is awarded in memory of Hal Eckman (Central High class of 1964) to a college-bound graduating senior who is focused and determined to achieve academic and professional excellence through hard work and perseverance, while overcoming obstacles and challenges along the way. This year the recognition goes to Charlie Sjolander-Dussault.

The Pinkerton Academy Jayme A. Lipkin-Moore Scholarship is given to a college-bound graduating senior who intends to major in the humanities or social sciences. Inspired by Jayme’s legacy, we choose a passionate learner and keen observer with outstanding communication and writing skills who possesses compassion and a desire to understand and educate others on humanity and justice. This year the award goes to Elizabeth Fournier.

The Breakthrough Manchester Jayme’s Scholar award goes to an incoming Breakthrough Manchester student who is intellectual, creative, expressive, socially conscious, and motivated to make the world a better place. Jayme’s Fund has a long history of supporting events with Breakthrough Manchester, in part inspired by Jayme’s own work there as a teacher while she was in high school. This year, this award goes to Jasmine Shulzinsky.

Awarded in memory of Emily Sunshine Gagnon (Merrimack High class of 1997) for young women facing their own unique difficulties and challenges on their path to higher learning. This year’s Emily’s Empowerment Scholarship for Women was awarded to Morgan Flett.

Established in honor of Natalie A. Lipkin-Amir, the Natalie A. Lipkin Memorial Scholarship at Morris Hills High School and Dover High School is awarded to two college-bound female seniors who are dedicated to empowering themselves by furthering their education. This year’s awardees are Jocelyn Melissa Cabrera Padilla and Laura Sofia Gamez.

In 2023, we will be offering two new scholarships, in memory of friends of Jayme’s Fund. Dan Lennon was a dear friend to Jayme’s Fund who wrote a song inspired by Jayme and performed at our first benefit concert and at many subsequent events. He was kind, caring and always on a mission to help others, whether as a drug and alcohol abuse and mental health counselor, entertaining with his supreme musical talent or contributing to organizations and the lives of so many individuals as he did with Jayme’s Fund. We miss his bluesy voice and infectious laughter.

Paula Hogan was a dear friend to Jayme’s Fund who generously shared her extreme kindness and caring with us and went above and beyond to help others. Though she didn’t know Jayme, she understood Jayme, the issues she cared about, and the passion that drove her action. Paula was an active board member, volunteer, contributed and raised monetary donations, worked closely with our interns, and stewarded projects and events like our Golf Classic and our fundraising walk. We miss her soft touch and infectious smile.   

Stay tuned for the details on these new scholarships.

Your support of Jayme’s Fund, over the history of our organization and today, makes it possible for us to offer these scholarships. Thank you for all of your support.

We need your help always as we can’t do the work without you.  Please consider a recurring donation of $20/month in celebration of twenty years of Jayme’s Fund for Social Justice.

Comments are closed.